MINUTES OF THE MEETING

Turville Northend Village Hall Annual General Meeting

Time of the meeting: Saturday, 9th October, 2004 10:00 am to 10:45 am

James McConville, Chair

Rob Oldershaw Treasurer Elect

Amanda Hughes Village Hall bookings Manager (co-opted)

Mirja Robinson Secretary (co-opted)

Pamela Jones

Margaret Drage Parochial Parish Council
Colin Malcolmson Turville Parish Council
Paul Griffiths Turville Village Association

Michael Wicks Turville Heath
Cayla Twemlow Local Charities

In attendance; Mark Lund Alison Gowers Alistair Eykyn Graham Twemlow Steve Blake Jo McConville

Chairman James McConville opened the meeting at 10 am. A round of introductions followed.

1. Apologies

Apologies: Elaine Atkinson, Anthony Atkinson, Lady Joan Foxley Norris, Heidi Rober, David Redhouse.

2. Minutes of the last AGM

The minutes of the previous year's AGM had been circulated by GT in September after the AGM. The following amendments to the previous minutes were made: section 6 'Election of Committee' to read 'Turville Village Association representative is Paul Griffiths'. Also, an attachment was proposed by the Chairman to include a list of the trustees.

Approval of minutes was proposed by PJ, seconded by CM. Approved unanimously and signed by the chairman.

3. Matters arising

There were no matters arising.

4. Chairman's Report

Copies of the original constitution of the Northend Village Hall dated 30th August 1960 were circulated in the meeting. After a brief history of the Village Hall for new residents, the Chairman reported the hall was looking splendid and in good order

with a sound financial situation, thanks to the hard work of present team. He described one of the lowlights of the Village Hall history to be the AGM in 1996 when only four people were present, the Village Hall roof was leaking and rodents were running around. The highlight of the Village Hall history being the £80,000 raised in the run up to Millennium to refurbish and renovate the Village Hall into its current splendid state. He was confident that the incoming new team would enable the good work to continue.

5. Treasurer's Report and Accounts 2003/2004

Anthony Atkinson, the retiring treasurer had presented the accounts at the Committee meeting 14th June 2004. He had stated according to the minutes of that meeting, that he hoped AGM to approve the accounts.

The accounts had been checked by the proposed incoming treasurer and had his principal approval. A detailed discussion of the accounts would take place in the committee meeting following immediately after the AGM.

ML proposed approval of the accounts. This was seconded by PJ. Accounts were approved unanimously.

6. Election of Committee Members

The current members of the Northend Village Hall Committee are:

James McConville Chairman

Amanda Hughes Bookings Manager-elect
Lady Joan Foxley Norris Committee Member
Pamela Jones Committee Member

Paul Griffiths Turville Village Association

Michael Wicks Turville Heath

Colin Malcolmson Turville Parish Council

Cayla Twemlow Local Charities

Margaret Drage Parochial Church Council

The retiring members of the Committee are:

Anthony Atkinson Treasurer

Elaine Atkinson Committee Member Simon Donegan Committee Member Mary Purkhardt Committee Member Amanda Bucknill Committee Member Heidi Roeber Committee Member

JMcC proposed that Amanda Hughes, Alistair Eykyn, Mirja Robinson, Alison Gowers, Rob Oldenshaw, and Mark Lund be elected to the committee. Seconded by PJ and approved unanimously.

7. Nominations to the Committee from Local Organisations

As Colin Malcolmson represents both Parish Council and Northend Village, he was asked to find a Northend representative.

(Note: CM has contacted the Secretary 13th October: Steve Bucknill will be the Northend Representative.)

8. Appointment of Trustees

Anthony Atkinson and Elaine Atkinson have resigned as Trustees as they have moved from the area. ML and RO agreed to become Trustees of the Northend Village Hall. Michael Wicks said he had not been aware of being a Trustee himself; after discussion he agreed to become one of the Trustees.

The duties and responsibilities of trusteeship have been clarified and laid down in greater detail by the Charity Commission in recent years. The published guidance states the following: "Trustees are responsible for controlling a charity's management and administration. They are responsible for ensuring that a charity's income and property are used only for the purposes set out in the charity's governing charter document and for no other purpose. Trustees have a responsibility to act reasonably and prudently in all matters relating to the charity, and have a responsibility to act n the best interests of the charity."

A separate meeting of Trustees will be arranged to discuss their responsibilities. (It is suggested that Trustees should first read the guidance on "Responsibilities of Charity Trustees", CC3 available from the Charity Commission.) CT suggested that with a solicitor it would be possible to reduce the individual liability of each trustee, but this would entail a one-off cost of £600. Corporate Trusteeship is an option. (NB this would not seem necessary providing the Trustees act prudently and lawfully in accordance with the governing document. The Hall also carries substantial insurance cover for loss and public liabilities.)

CM also asked how many Trustees are needed. The Chairman replied that the Constitution is weak on this point but states that there shall be eight committee members and five representatives of local organisations. At the first AGM all committee members were also Trustees but not the representatives of local organisations. Only recently has the Charity Commission required an Annual Return listing the Trustees and their personal details. ML proposed that Trustees would not be in the present committee, and that one of the advantages of the arrangement would be that the Committee would have a supervisory body in Trustees.

The Chairman proposed that the remaining trustees are reappointed. These are: James McConville,
Lady Joan Foxley Norris
Pamela Jones
Paul Griffiths
Michael Wicks
Colin Malcolmson
Margaret Drage

The proposal was unanimously accepted.

9. Any other business

The next AGM will be held in October 2005 in accordance with the Constitution. The exact date will be decided in a committee meeting nearer the time.

10. Closing the Meeting

The Chairman closed the Annual General Meeting at 10:45 am.